What are Scandinavian and Nordic Countries?

This content was last updated on 24.01.2024 22:20

We have listed the Scandinavian countries, which are considered among the calmest and most beautiful countries in the world, for you.

Scandinavian countries are Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Finland and Iceland. In addition to these, the Faroe Islands, an autonomous region of Denmark, are also included in the group of Scandinavian countries. Scandinavian countries, also called Nordic countries, have a North-South divide. Denmark, Finland and Sweden are the Southern Scandinavian countries, while Norway and Iceland are located in the north of Scandinavia. When people think of Scandinavia, the first things that come to mind are cold weather, Vikings and northern lights. We will introduce you the Scandinavian countries more closely. We wish you pleasant reading.

What are the Viking Countries?

Vikings lived in Scandinavia in history. Today, the people of Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Iceland and the Faroe Islands are thought to be of Viking descent. In other words, Scandinavian countries other than Finland are known as Viking countries.

Who Is Scandinavian Called?

What is Scandinavian? Who is Scandinavian? The answers to these questions are common. People from the Scandinavian region, i.e. citizens of Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland or the Faroe Islands, are called Scandinavians.

— Advertisement —

Scandinavian Countries

Denmark Copenhagen 5.900.000 42,950 km2
Sweden Stockholm 10.575.000 528.445 km2
Norway Oslo 5.450.000 385.207 km2
Finland Helsinki 5.540.000 338.440 km2
Iceland Reykjavik 375.000 103.000 km2
Faroe Islands Torshavn 50.000 1.395 km2

1. Denmark


Denmark is a country located in Northern Europe that shares a land border with Germany and is connected to Sweden by the Öresund Bridge. Its territory is approximately 43,000 square kilometers and includes, besides the Jutland Peninsula, an archipelago of 443 islands. It is the smallest and southernmost Scandinavian country excluding the Faroe Islands. Denmark has mostly flat, low altitude, arable land and a temperate climate. This means that it experiences significant seasonal weather changes. Famous for being socially progressive, Denmark's official language is Danish and has been a member of the European Union since 1973.

2. Sweden


Sweden is the largest and most populous country among the Scandinavian countries. It is located on the Scandinavian Peninsula between Norway and Finland and is connected to Denmark in the south by the Öresund Bridge. It has been inhabited by Germanic peoples since prehistory and an independent Swedish state was established in the 1100s.
About 65% of Sweden is covered by forests that dominate the northern parts of the country. The southern parts of the country are largely devoted to agriculture and the region with the highest population density is the Öresund Region in the south. Most of Sweden's land is water in the form of lakes, rivers and canals. Lake Vanern in Sweden is the third largest river in Europe and the Klaralven-Götaalv is the longest river that runs through Sweden. The country also borders the Gulf of Bothnia, the Baltic Sea, and the North Sea.

3. Norway


Norway is the Scandinavian country located in the westernmost and northernmost parts of Scandinavia. Almost half of Norway's landmass lies above the Arctic Circle, but the country's maritime climate keeps temperatures milder than those seen in other countries at similar latitudes.

According to some lists, Norway is the country with the fourth highest per capita income in the world. It is also the world's second largest fish exporter after China. Home to some of Europe's most beautiful natural beauties, Norway is a major tourist destination.

4. Finland


Finland is a fascinating country with magnificent forests and lakes that complement a lush landscape. A large part of the country consists of plains and mountainous areas are rare. Official languages are Finnish and Swedish. Its neighbors are Russia to the east, Sweden to the west and Norway to the northwest.

In the north of Finland, the sun never goes away in summer, while in the south it sets late and there is no darkness at all. In winter, however, the sun does not rise in the north and appears in the south for several hours a day.

5. Iceland


Iceland is located north of the Atlantic Ocean, south of Greenland, and between Norway and the British Isles. Iceland is a volcanic island country. There are also many small islands around it. Located halfway between North America and Northern Europe, Iceland's closest neighbor is Greenland, 350 kilometers away. Other neighbors are Scotland, 800 kilometers away, and Norway, 1050 kilometers away.

Although its name means "ice country", the country has a temperate climate due to the warm current of the Gulf Stream. It is possible to experience 24 hours of night and 24 hours of day in different seasons of the year.

6. Faroe Islands

Faroe Islands

The Faroe Islands are located in the Atlantic Ocean between Scotland and Iceland. An archipelago of hundreds of islets and cliffs, the Faroe Islands are known for their cliffs and pristine landscapes. It is a self-governing overseas autonomous region of Denmark.

The most interesting feature of the Faroe Islands, which has a population of approximately 50,000, is that more sheep than humans live in the country. It is estimated that around 70,000 sheep live in the Faroe Islands.

Share This Post

Comments (0)

There are no comments for this content yet.

Do you want to make the first comment?

Leave a Comment